Prepare your surgery

Decision to perform a surgical procedure

The decision to perform the surgery will be discussed in detail during your consultation with Dr Cunningham. The surgical procedure,  the risks and benefits and your expectations will also be addressed. Most importantly, any questions you may have will be answered. Dr Cunningham strongly believes that being prepared and well-informed about surgery facilitates the recovery process (pre-rehabilitation).

If necessary you may be referred to a specialised preoperative medical consultation, called “Fast Track”, which will help you optimise your preoperative medical condition, the course of your stay and your postoperative recovery. (LINK TO FAST-TRACK: http://www.chirurgie-fast-track.ch/chirurgie-fast-track.ch/Quest-ce_que_la_Chirurgie_Fast-Track.html)

Feel free to contact Dr Cunningham’s secretary for any additional questions you may have or to fix an appointment.

Your general practitioner will systematically be informed of the planned surgical procedure prior to the intervention. If needed, he or she will complete the preoperative workup with further investigations (chest X-ray, EKG etc) and will verify and adapt your medications (for example anticoagulant drugs) before the surgery.

On the day(s) before your operation

You will meet your anaesthesiologist who will answer any questions you may have and discuss with you the type of anaesthesia (local, regional, total) that suits your case. You will also be informed about the details regarding your arrival at the clinic (such as fasting and time).

The day of your operation

On your arrival you will be welcomed by the medical staff of the clinic who will ensure your comfort and explain the course of your stay. They will then prepare and accompany you to the operating theatre.

The days following your operation

The nursing staff will take care of your comfort day and night. You will receive daily visits from Dr Cunningham, the anaesthesiologist and, if indicated,  physiotherapists. Dr. Cunningham will discuss the treatment plan and postoperative care and help you organise your return home (rehabilitation). He will also give you all the necessary documents for your discharge from the clinic (medical certificates, medical prescriptions, follow-up appointments, rehabilitation protocols).

After you return home

You will see Dr Cunningham at regular intervals to ensure your recovery is optimal. He will guide your return to your professional and sports activities and will refer you, if necessary, to a sports medicine specialist.

Préparez votre intervention chirurgicale

Indication chirurgicale

La décision de procéder à une intervention chirurgicale sera longuement discutée en consultation, où vous pourrez poser toutes vos questions y relatives.  C’est à ce moment que débutera déjà votre réhabilitation. Le Dr Cunningham vous aidera à vous y préparer au mieux en discutant en détail le déroulement du geste opératoire et de votre séjour en clinique, des attentes à avoir, des consignes postopératoires à suivre.

Votre médecin traitant aura systématiquement reçu un courrier pour le tenir informé de la procédure planifiée. Celui-ci s’occupera si nécessaire de compléter le bilan préopératoire et veiller à l’arrêt ou relai de médicaments anticoagulants si vous en prenez, quelques jours avant l’intervention.

Si besoin, il vous réfèrera à une consultation médicale préopératoire spécialisée « Fast Track » qui s’occupera d’optimiser le déroulement de votre séjour et votre récupération postopératoire. (LIEN VERS FAST-TRACK : http://www.chirurgie-fast-track.ch/chirurgie-fast-track.ch/Quest-ce_que_la_Chirurgie_Fast-Track.html)

À tout moment, il vous sera possible de contacter le secrétariat du Dr Cunningham pour toutes questions complémentaires et pour le revoir.

Le (les) jour(s) avant votre intervention

Vous allez rencontrer votre anesthésiste qui répondra à toutes vos questions spécifiques et discutera avec vous du type d’anesthésie (locale, régionale, totale) le plus adapté à votre situation et vos demandes. Il vous sera également expliqué les conditions et l’heure à laquelle vous devrez vous présenter à la clinique, en principe le jour même de votre intervention.

Le jour de votre intervention

Vous allez vous présenter à l’heure convenue à la clinique, où vous serez accueilli et pris en charge par le personnel soignant qui veillera à votre confort et vous expliquera le déroulement de votre séjour et vous accompagnera au bloc opératoire.

Les jours qui suivent votre intervention

Le personnel soignant veillera à votre confort jour et nuit. Vous recevrez des visites journalières du Dr Cunningham, de l’anesthésiste et physiothérapeutes si indiqué. Le Dr Cunningham discutera avec vous du plan de traitement et consignes postopératoires, et vous aidera à organiser votre retour à domicile ou convalescence. Le but est que vous quittiez la clinique avec tous les éléments en main pour votre réhabilitation (RDV de contrôles, ordonnances, certificats médicaux)

Après votre retour chez vous

Vous reverrez le Dr Cunningham à des intervalles réguliers, qui s’assurera que votre guérison soit optimale en vous examinant et adaptant votre réhabilitation. Il supervisera la reprise de vos activités professionnelles et sportives, et vous adressera si nécessaire à une consultation spécialisée de médecine du sport pour optimiser cette dernière.