It’s in your head!

A patient would not dare raising his arm even though his shoulder surgery went perfectly well? An amputated limb hurts horribly?

Your brain is probably playing tricks on you! After orthopedic surgery (e.g: following shoulder dislocation) most people resume activities and sports and perform just as well as before their injury. “But some patients don’t do as well and continue to be afraid despite the fact that their shoulder is stable, examinations and imaging results are all normal, ligaments are perfectly well attached and the surgical procedure was a success …” Dr. Hoffmeyer, Chief of Service of orthopedics at the Geneva University Hospitals, says. “They do not necessarily have pain, they are just skeptical about using their arms and wonder whether or not they will ever be able to.”
More than 20% of patients continue to fear the worst. This inspired Dr. Hoffmeyer and orthopedic surgeon Dr. Cunningham to work with Dr. Haller, neuroradiologist, to determine whether or not something was wrong. And there, bingo! When these patients were shown videos of movements likely to dislocate the shoulder, the MRI showed significant cerebral reorganization, with over activation of the zones that regulate emotions such as fear.

The brain is also at the forefront of “phantom pains” following amputation. In such instances, one of the solutions consists of tricking the brain, using a simple mirror or virtual reality, as shown by this exciting report of 36.9˚. In the case of nerve damage causing unsustainable neuropathic pain, the implantation of a neuro-stimulation system can improve the lives of 60 to 70% of patients; yet, it does not cure the causes of suffering but filters or simply blocks the arrival of these signals to the brain. And there are more secrets to be discovered from these exciting findings …

See the program

C’est dans la tête!

Cerveau

Un patient n’ose plus lever le bras alors que son épaule opérée est parfaitement remise? Un membre amputé fait horriblement mal? C’est notre cerveau qui fait des siennes! Après une chirurgie orthopédique, par exemple à la suite d’une luxation de l’épaule, la plupart des personnes reprennent activités et sport exactement comme avant. «Mais certains patients sont des échecs et continuent à avoir peur malgré une épaule stable, malgré des examens qui montrent que tout va bien, que les ligaments sont bien rattachés, que l’opération est un succès…» Le Dr Hoffmeyer, chef du service d’ortho­pédie des Hôpitaux universitaires genevois, précise encore: «Ils n’ont pas nécessairement mal, ils ont une appréhension lorsqu’ils lèvent le bras et se demandent s’il va tenir ou pas.»
Plus de 20% des opérés continuent à craindre le pire, ce qui a incité le Dr Hoffmeyer et le Dr Cunningham, orthopédiste, à tenter de déterminer, avec le Dr Haller, neuroradiologue, s’il se passait quelque chose d’anormal dans leur tête. Et là, bingo! Lorsqu’on montre à ces patients des vidéos de mouvements susceptibles de luxer l’épaule, l’IRM permet d’observer une réorganisation cérébrale significative, avec suractivation des zones de la régulation des émotions et de la peur.

Le cerveau est également en première ligne lors des «douleurs fantômes» faisant suite à une amputation. Là, une des solutions est de tenter de le leurrer, avec un simple miroir ou de la réalité virtuelle, comme le montre ce passionnant reportage de 36.9˚. Dans le cas de nerfs endommagés, provoquant des douleurs neuropathiques insoutenables, l’implantation d’un système de neurostimulation peut améliorer la vie de 60 à 70% des patients; pourtant, il ne soigne pas les causes de la souffrance mais filtre ou bloque simplement l’arrivée de ces signaux jusqu’au cerveau. Qui n’a pas fini de révéler les secrets de ses circonvolutions…