Shoulder Dislocation and Instability

img

Overview of Shoulder Dislocation and Instability

Shoulder dislocations or “dead arm” are the displacement of the humerus head away from the socket of the shoulder blade (scapula). Most commonly, these dislocations are anterior meaning that the humerus is displaced anteriorly . Subluxation refers to a partial dislocation where the two joint surfaces have lost their usual contact.

Dislocations are more common in younger patients after a trauma or fall onto an outstretched hand or violent twisting. It is also more common among athletes doing overhead activities like volleyball or throwoing .It can occur when the muscles and ligaments of the shoulder are torn or stretched beyond their normal limits,

Symptoms of Shoulder Dislocation and Instability

Symptoms include pain, swelling and/or weakness in the arm, and a feeling of looseness. Symptoms can range from a lack of dexterity in some movements to a complete inability to move the arm.

Treatment of Shoulder Dislocation and Instability

Early treatment consists of an immobilization of the shoulder joint for up to 3 wks, followed by strengthening exercises and rehabilitation. Exercises for rotator cuff strengthening are also prescribed.

Indications for surgery include repetitive dislocations that happen more than 3 times per year or after a failed nonoperative therapy. Indications are also depending on patient demands or athletes that are willing to heal faster.
Surgery consists of reattaching the torn labrum and glenohumeral ligaments either with open surgery or with arthroscopy (See Arthroscopic shoulder stabilization).

Luxation de l’articulation de l’épaule

img

Vue d’ensemble de la luxation et de l’instabilité de l’épaule

La luxation de l’épaule ou “bras mort” est le déplacement de la tête de l’humérus loin de la cavité glénoïde de l’omoplate (omoplate). Le plus souvent, ces luxations sont antérieures c’est à dire l’humérus est déplaacé vers l’avant. La subluxation désigne une luxation partielle où les deux surfaces articulaires ont perdu leur contact habituel.

Les luxations sont plus fréquentes chez les patients plus jeunes après un traumatisme / chute sur une main tendue ou une torsion violente. Il est également plus fréquent chez les athlètes pratiquant des activités qui impliquent lever le bras telles que le volleyball ou les jeux de lancer. La luxation se produit lorsque les muscles et les ligaments de l’épaule sont déchirés ou étirés au-delà de leurs limites normales.

Symptômes de luxation et instabilité de l’épaule

Les symptômes comprennent la douleur, l’enflure et / ou la faiblesse dans le bras et une sensation de relâchement. Les symptômes peuvent aller d’un manque de dextérité dans certains mouvements à une incapacité totale à bouger le bras.

Traitement de la luxation et de l’instabilité de l’épaule

Le traitement précoce consiste en une immobilisation de l’articulation de l’épaule jusqu’à 3 semaines, suivie d’exercices de renforcement et de rééducation. Des exercices de renforcement de la coiffe des rotateurs sont également prescrits.

Les indications de la chirurgie incluent les luxations répétées qui surviennent plus de trois fois par an ou après un traitement non opératoire échoué. Les indications dépendent également des demandes des patients ou des athlètes qui sont souhaitent guérir plus rapidement.
La chirurgie consiste à rattacher le labrum et les ligaments gléno-huméraux déchirés, soit par chirurgie ouverte, soit par arthroscopie (voir Stabilisation arthroscopique de l’épaule).